Factors In Spousal Support Awards In The District Of Columbia

By Barkat Law Firm

If you are getting a divorce in the District of Columbia you can request, and may be eligible to receive spousal support. Section 16-913 of the District of Columbia Code states that, “In determining an award for spousal support the Court looks at all relevant factors including, but not limited to, the:

(1) ability of the party seeking alimony to be wholly or partly self-supporting;

(2) time necessary for the party seeking alimony to gain sufficient education or
training to enable that party to secure suitable employment;

(3) standard of living that the parties established during their marriage or domestic
partnership, but giving consideration to the fact that there will be 2 households
to maintain;

(4) duration of the marriage or domestic partnership;

(5) circumstances which contributed to the estrangement of the parties;

(6) age of each party;

(7) physical and mental condition of each party;

(8) ability of the party from whom alimony is sought to meet his or her needs while
meeting the needs of the other party; and

(9) financial needs and financial resources of each party, including:
(A) income;
(B) income from assets, both those that are the property of the marriage or
domestic partnership and those that are not;
(C) potential income which may be imputed to non-income producing assets of a
(D) any previous award of child support in this case;
(E) the financial obligations of each party;
(F) the right of a party to receive retirement benefits; and
(G) the taxability or non-taxability of income.”

Contact the Barkat Law Firm today to speak with a D.C. divorce attorney about how to pursue or fight against a request for spousal support.

Image credit: pixelsaway / 123RF Stock Photo